Wednesday, May 6, 2009

Registration for the 2010 National Elections on-going

Registration for the May 10, 2010 National Elections is still on-going.  Deadline for the filing of application for registration is on October 31, 2009.

COMELEC Resolution No. 8514 provides the qualifications on who may register.  Sec. 6, states:

Section   6.   Who may register. – Any Filipino citizen who is:

  1. At least eighteen (18) years of age;

  2. A resident of the Philippines for at least one (1) year and in the place wherein he proposes to vote for at least six (6) months on or before the day of the election; and

  3. Not otherwise disqualified by law.

Any person, who has not yet reached the required voting age or period of residence on the day of registration but will possess the same on or before the day of election (May 10, 2010 National and Local Elections) may register as a voter. The applications for this group of persons shall be filed not earlier than May 12, 2009.

Applicants may file their their application forms at the Office of the Election Officer in the respective city/municipality in the Philippines.

For more info, please click on the link below to read COMELEC Resolution No. 8514 "Rules and Regulations on the resumption of the System of Continiung Registration of Voters in the non ARMM areas".

Procedure for registration:

  1. qualified applicant need only to appear personally at the local COMELEC office. " width="235" height="197" align="right" hspace="15" vspace="10">

  2. The applicant's identity and residence will be verified. (Bring a valid ID with photograph and signature.) 

  3. The applicant's status of registration will also be verified. (NOTE: Your registration status may also be verified here.) 

  4. After a successful verification, the applicant shall be given an application form to fill up (in 3 copies). 

  5. The applicant's biometrics will then be digitally captured. 

  6. An Acknowledgment Receipt will be given to the applicant afterwards.

Monday, May 4, 2009

Welcome to the blog of the COMELEC Region 8

Welcome to the blog of the office of the Regional Director, Region 8, of the Commission on Elections, Republic of the Philippines.

We'll be posting news, data and updates of the Commission concerning the Provinces of Region VIII (Eastern Visayas):

COMELEC Region VIII Regional Officers:

Atty. Gregorio Y. Larrazabal
Regional Election Director

Atty. Jose Nick A. Mendros
Assistant Regional Election Director

Atty. Richard Alvin N. Japson
Regional Attorney

The Provincial Election Supervisors of Region VIII are:

Province of Biliran
Atty. Sabino Mejarito
Provincial Election Supervisor

Province of Eastern Samar
Atty. Juan Bautista A. Beato Jr.
Provincial Election Supervisor

Province of Leyte
Atty. Felicisimo A. Embalsado
Provincial Election Supervisor

Province of Northern Samar
Atty. Andrew A. Bido
Provincial Election Supervisor

Province of Samar
Atty. Ma. Corazon S. Montallana
Provincial Election Supervisor

Province of Southern Leyte
Atty. Antonio G. Gulay, Jr.
Provincial Election Supervisor

News and updates concerning the upcoming May 10, 2010 National elections will also be posted here.